What’s My Motivation?

Do you spend more time pinning workout motivational quotes than moving those feet?  Having a bad day?  Here are some of my top tips to get moving.

IMG_1861

  • Start that music.  Sometimes  all you need is the right mix.  I have changed my station 900 times before finding the right beats.
  • Surround yourself with inspiration.  Follow your favorite athletes on social media.  Be inspired by your friends.  Focus on the positive and remove the negative from your feed.  It’s hard to make excuses when everyone around you is showing you how you can do it right now.
  • Break it down into minutes.  “If I can run for a minute and a half, then I can walk.”  If you break your tasks down into reasonable time frames it becomes easier to deal with.  I can do anything for a minute.
  • Make it non negotiable by putting it in your calendar or setting a daily alarm.  My schedule can get so hectic that if I don’t make time for my workout I never would.  I treat it like I do any other appointment and always keep it.
  • Have an anthem or mantra to get you through the really tough parts.  “I can do anything…”  Or “Till I Collapse” by Eminem.  Whatever it is, no matter how cheesy, use it.
  • Hydrate, keep water near by at all times.  You’ll get so used to sipping on it that it will never be a deterrent to your progress.
  • Embrace change by trying new things.  If your gym offers classes show up for a few different ones.  Try a new circuit or mix up your treadmill with a HIIT run.  Break your routine rut by trying something new every day.
  • Join a gym.  Some gyms are open 24/7 and most days of the year. If you work out at home it can impede your intensity or focus, the kids at your feet, your chores demanding attention…  Getting away from your daily tasks and shutting it off for thirty minutes can increase your focus and intensity.
  • Get friendly! Make friends at the gym, or bring your own.  Fitness is a lifestyle and it helps when you surround yourself with people that celebrate your health wins.
  • Post a sweaty selfie!  I am a huge fan of this and think everyone should do it!
  • Get out of your own head.  Sometimes it’s not a physical but emotional block.  The only way you can work through it is by talking it out, or dealing with it head on.  Always have a support system.  Working on yourself is an inside out process and you will have emotional distress along the way.
  • Train don’t just work out.  Pick an event or an ability you want to master within 3 months and train for it like any athlete would.
  • Supplement.  Still dragging your feet or unable to push, try a pre-workout in your fitness routine.  This can give you the energy you need and get you going.  Try a post-workout to ensure you minimize soreness.  I use Shakeology as a nutritional and energy supplement.
  • Join a challenge group.  Use social media to hold yourself accountable and meet other like minded people.  If you’d like to join mine visit Truly Capable on FB.

The trick is finding what moves you and having support.  If I missed any tips I’d love to hear from you.

About Say Hawk

I am a mother of two, wife of over ten years. I am an advocate for my special needs son and a cheerleader for my family and friends. I don't believe in can't and desire to help everyone find a way to fight their N-E-V-E-R-S.
Aside | This entry was posted in Beachbody, Family, Fitness, Motivation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

