The Search For Balance

My first promotion and I leave the dishes in the sink

My first promotion and I leave the dishes in the sink

I had a truly remarkable day yesterday, my business took off and I got it all done. The truth is that I was up at 5:30 am and I didn’t go to bed until 12:30 am. I had an impossible to do list and a never ending list of chores. I wrestled with Mom guilt over how much time I was getting with my kids and flitted between all these responsibilities.

Every single day I struggle with this: “Am I spending enough time with my kids, did I teach them anything, do they feel loved? I should have done more laundry, oh I missed that basket, how long have I let that pile sit there? I didn’t make quality food today or I should have made that bread from scratch.  I need to get my boys to eat more vegetables. Are they drinking too much juice?  I hardly spent a moment with my husband maybe I should do something nice so he feels loved and not neglected. Oh there goes my phone again, I better put it down so I can finish this workout.  Tomorrow I must do this better.”

The truth of the matter is sometimes it’s not your responsibilities but your expectations that need corrected. I have unrealistic ideas about how much I should be getting done. I’m too hard on myself if I let something go.  I hardly rest. I am lucky to watch 10 minutes of news in the day. I am not doing it all everyday, I am doing a little every day.

I have spent days working on my yard because I can’t seem to finish it all at once. I could be upset that it isn’t done yet but I have been trying to work on it whenever I have a moment. Getting it done before the weather turns will make snow removal much quicker and easier come winter. If I take the big projects and just spend a little time every day to work on them, they eventually get done.

My fitness, nutrition, chores, relationships are all built day by day.  It’s okay to not be perfect.  It’s okay to leave a basket of laundry or leave the vacuuming for tomorrow.  I want to live my best life every day and the only way to do that is to make every day better by being nicer to myself and my family.  We gave up bath time last night to play in the yard, sure they went to bed with dirty feet but they will remember one of the last summer nights.  Be kind to yourself and let something go today.

 

Don’t forget to enter my promotion @ a Rafflecopter giveaway for your chance at a $25 Beachbody Gift Card. 

About Say Hawk

I am a mother of two, wife of over ten years. I am an advocate for my special needs son and a cheerleader for my family and friends. I don't believe in can't and desire to help everyone find a way to fight their N-E-V-E-R-S.
This entry was posted in Beachbody, Family, Fitness, Motivation, Special Needs, Vision Impaired and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

