Be More Child Like

Work out together and benefit!

Work out together and benefit!

Now that summer is over and new routines are getting settled, I spent a little time with my clients.  I wanted to know what was working and what wasn’t.  What I learned is that all of my mom’s were getting their work outs in because their children loved doing it with them.  Instead of trying to get away from the kids to get it in, they all found that doing it together made for a great “Mommy and Me” date.

I work out with my own children.  The silly photo is my quick capture of my son doing downward dog while I was also doing it. I find that being a mother is very rewarding but mostly because I get to live experiences as new again.  Children make everything playful and fun.  Tell a child to work out and he’ll likely say “Yay.”  Apply that same statement to most adults and you’ll get a list of reasons why they can’t. I’ve thought a lot about this difference and have resolved to live my life with more child like fun.

Instead of making everything in your life work and dreading all your responsibilities, have a little fun.  Throw a dance party and jump around because you can.  Life is pretty fantastic especially surrounded by the ones you love most.  Instead of watching your kids from afar get in and play.  I promise the work out from chasing them or doing a good round of jumping jacks will burn lots of calories, but best yet it’ll bring you closer.

Build your relationships, confidence in your parenting, and get more down just by doing it together.  There are so many reasons to work out at home and I have to say this is my favorite.  When your kids start asking for you to push play you know you’ve made a difference.  Even if you think I’m silly try it, just once and tell me how it went.

About Say Hawk

I am a mother of two, wife of over ten years. I am an advocate for my special needs son and a cheerleader for my family and friends. I don't believe in can't and desire to help everyone find a way to fight their N-E-V-E-R-S.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Beachbody, Family, Fitness, Motivation, Special Needs, Vision Impaired and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

