A 9/11 Poem Written In the Aftermath

The "Tribute in Light" memorial is in remembrance of the events of Sept. 11, 2001. The two towers of light are composed of two banks of high wattage spotlights that point straight up from a lot next to Ground Zero. This photo was taken from Liberty State Park, N.J., Sept. 11, the five-year anniversary of 9/11. (U.S. Air Force photo/Denise Gould)

The “Tribute in Light” memorial is in remembrance of the events of Sept. 11, 2001. The two towers of light are composed of two banks of high wattage spotlights that point straight up from a lot next to Ground Zero. This photo was taken from Liberty State Park, N.J., Sept. 11, the five-year anniversary of 9/11. (U.S. Air Force photo/Denise Gould)

I was in English class, my junior year, when the Towers were destroyed.  I knew a kid in the senior class joining the military, but it just wasn’t that big of a thing.  I remember the way we all just didn’t understand.  You could feel that the world was different, the fear was everywhere.  The week after the attacks everyone was signing up for the military, my boyfriend (he is my husband of ten years) was one of them.

I also wrote a stream of consciousness about the lead up to the Declaration of War with Iraq.  It’s on my tumblr under my writing portfolio.

Where were you when the towers fell?

Towers

Stories taller than the sky

Filtering like raindrops

Landing in our hair, on our clothes, in our minds

Screams of confusion, pain, and dread

Cannot remove the echo of the crash

And those that led

The movement of freedom

Could not have foreseen its impact

Now the word is weary

From over-usage

And the women grow teary-eyed

Over the loss of innocence

Even the children see

That America is not the only Democracy

Is not the way, the light, the power

But another part of the tie

That binds humanity

 

About Say Hawk

I am a mother of two, wife of over ten years. I am an advocate for my special needs son and a cheerleader for my family and friends. I don't believe in can't and desire to help everyone find a way to fight their N-E-V-E-R-S.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Family, Military and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

