Are You Afraid Of The Weight Room?

I hate to mention my gender as a reason why I do or don’t do things; but to be honest at gyms gender is a factor.  I left my last gym because every time I tried a new machine or picked up a free weight there was a room full of men glaring at me.  I was afraid and nervous rather than focused on what I was supposed to be doing.

When I run I can’t just tune everything out, I have to worry about safety, time of day, etc… I made the mistake of going for my long run later in the morning, when traffic picked up.  The catcalls and jeers were inspiration to move fast and get out of there, because seriously who needs that crap?

I firmly believe that women can do everything, we may not do as many but we certainly are able to do some.  I don’t feel being female is a handicap.  But there are many truths women know that we don’t talk about that discourage us from going to our gym or for a quick run. Sometimes it just doesn’t feel safe.

Work out at home videos were cheesy and chalk full of step aerobics and silly cardio.  Then there was BeachBody.  I admit I was majorly impressed with the athleticism and wanted it for myself.  But there is a certain gym intimidation.  There isn’t a lot of yelling like some other celebrities out there *cough cough* but not everyone is at peak fitness levels.

I couldn’t wait for Piyo because I am a Pilates junkie.  Or at least I used to be before it got boring.  I thought I could finally finish a program without feeling intimidated.  I completed my 60 days with amazing results and ready to tackle more “intimidating” programs.  I officially ran my first 5 k.  I wanted more and didn’t know where to start.

21 Day Fix helped settle my restlessness.  I’m learning how to properly use free weights without the fear of doing something wrong.  I don’t have guys staring me down while I try a move for the first time.  Doing it at home gives me the freedom of focus and failure. It’s an odd thing to include as a bonus but it’s okay if I don’t do it right at first.  As long as I focus on form and safety it’s okay not to be perfect.

I am super excited about p90.  I didn’t like p90x, all the men I know loved it.  But it just didn’t feel inclusive.  It felt like the gym room to me.  I like seeing where BeachBody is headed.  I love the focus on inclusiveness and all fitness levels.  I will be one of the first to buy it because I can’t wait to master weights. If you’d like to learn more about it visit here. What have your gym experiences been like?  Do you prefer to work out at home or at the gym?

Want to master weights without gym intimidation?

Want to master weights without gym intimidation?

About Say Hawk

I am a mother of two, wife of over ten years. I am an advocate for my special needs son and a cheerleader for my family and friends. I don't believe in can't and desire to help everyone find a way to fight their N-E-V-E-R-S.
This entry was posted in Beachbody, Fitness, Motivation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

