Sunday Family Fun & Prep

My big helper enjoying every chore

My big helper enjoying every chores

Trying to cram food preparation, laundry, and a deep house cleaning into a family day can be tough.  Now that both of my children are old enough to have chores they contribute to the completion of the important ones. Before chores are divided or we take off to complete errands we start every Sunday with pancakes and conversation. I cannot imagine my week without Sunday, I’m sure I’d be lost.

“By failing to prepare you are preparing to fail” Benjamin Franklin.  

Family time around the table is sacred to me.  It gives my busy family a chance to reconnect and discuss how the previous week went, or how the upcoming week will go.  We update the calendar, adjust schedules, and plan some fun.  My children love to be asked what they are doing that week and when they contribute to the fun activity.  After a quick clean up it’s off for errands.

I discussed in How To Feed A Picky Eater that my special needs son helps at the grocery store.  He picks the food that goes in the basket, puts it on the belt, and even carries it in the house.  Both of my boys are allowed to put away the groceries once we’re home.  I will admit this can be chaotic with my 18 month old.

Menu Planning is my least favorite chore, I find it difficult to please every eater in my home.  Making my family part of each step from the gathering to the cleaning makes every meal more successful.  My eldest will even gather the ingredients I ask for because he put them away.  He already helps me cook, of course safety is always a priority.

Before the bedtime routine is even started both boys are required to clean up for the day. I use this time to also clean up the kitchen or any other messes.  The biggest rule I have for a successful day is to never start behind.  My children love bath time and brushing their teeth.  They mostly don’t argue about going to bed at all, some nights it may take longer.

The last two things we do every day are to pick out tomorrow’s clothes and discuss what will happen and read a story.  Transitions can be very hard for children and I find this step to be another crucial part of our day.  It has taken years to get our routine down and we still don’t always fit in everything to Family Fun Day but we certainly get the most important part in.

My Adjustments in case you’re curious.  I will be moving my alarm to 5am to have more time to get my work outs in.  I added extra alarms for ensuring my son makes the bus.  Scheduled in my spouse’s planned work outs. Completely recommitted to my healthy diet.

About Say Hawk

I am a mother of two, wife of over ten years. I am an advocate for my special needs son and a cheerleader for my family and friends. I don't believe in can't and desire to help everyone find a way to fight their N-E-V-E-R-S.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Beachbody, Dinner, Family, Motivation, Nutrition, Special Needs, Vision Impaired and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

