Five More Minutes

It will be tough, you're tired, you're sore, you just want to give up... Do it anyway.

It will be tough, you’re tired, you’re sore, you just want to give up… Do it anyway.

My alarm went off too early, I pressed snooze three times.  I snuggled my son and procrastinated getting up.  I knew as soon as I woke up this morning that today I wasn’t “in it.” Mentally I’m just not motivated.  I’m sore, my goals seem miles away, and I’m lonely.

I absolutely love my kids but being a Work At Home Mom is definitely tough. After a rough week you start to feel entrapped by your home.  I started my work out and pressed pause too many times to keep going.  I’m hoping that by being honest and putting my issues out into the open I can work past them and get moving.

It is absolutely tough when you start a new exercise regimen to work for weeks without results.  You feel the power and change but you can’t see it yet.  You feel hopeless and like your hard work isn’t paying off.  Talk to any fitness friend and they’ll tell you “it takes time, muscle weighs more than fat, you didn’t put it on overnight…”  I want you to know that it’s okay to be frustrated, I get you, it sucks.

What you can do is focus on a small goal.  Set attainable goals and give yourself a reasonable time frame, i.e.; from one to five consecutive push ups in two weeks.  Mapping your progress will keep you motivated: seeing the changes, being able to quantify the differences just works.

Change one bad habit a week, add one new exercise regimen.  Over time the changes will compound and your body will be transformed.  This is how you make a lifestyle change and not just commit to a fad for a short time.  Want to keep the weight off permanently?  You have to change your lifestyle.

You will have bad days, off days, easy days that make you feel amazing.  The trick is to just have so many days of doing it that the transformation happens.  Commiserate with a friend or a coach when it gets tough and just keep going.  I will be pushing play no matter what, because my dreams are attainable.

About Say Hawk

I am a mother of two, wife of over ten years. I am an advocate for my special needs son and a cheerleader for my family and friends. I don't believe in can't and desire to help everyone find a way to fight their N-E-V-E-R-S.
This entry was posted in Beachbody, Fitness, Motivation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

