Military Matters

My husband is an Iraq War Vet.  Many of our closest friends are still in the military.  We struggled with the decision of whether to stay in or return home to family.  I wanted children and didn’t want to do it alone, he wanted more from his life than just reacting.  We agreed that it was time to leave active duty and start a family. We didn’t know that the life never leaves you.

Coming home wasn’t what we expected.  We missed the camaraderie and closeness of the military.  I missed the people and kindness that had made up my life for 8 years.  I still miss it.  Slowly my block has become prior military and made it easier to live here, but we still have the itch.

I follow politics pretty closely, and the military is always of utmost importance to my family.  Every Generation of my family has served as well as my husband’s.  To say the military is part of our family is an understatement.

Many charities prey on the military and supporters.  Many of the biggest charities don’t often contribute to military members or their families and have high overhead costs.  If you are curious how your favorite charity does check out Charity Navigator.

Wounded Warriors is one of the few high profile, pro-military charities that provide needed help to soldiers and their families.  Their mission is of utmost importance.  If you’ve ever been to a VA hospital or seen any of the recent scandal, none of that is new to military members.

Not only do they provide medical devices like a prosthesis or wheelchair, they provide training to help the Vet handle this new device.  They provide support in dealing with the injury long term and adapting your home and life to this new normal.  They offer psychological help to the Vets and even help families in how to cope and adapt.  The level of service they provide is beyond amazing, it is of true value.

It is my great honor to tell you of this new program from Tony Horton.  What does one have to do with the other?  Did you know that overseas in Iraq and Afghanistan our soldiers are doing P90x for free? That for most deploying soldiers Beachbody products provide a way to stay healthy and release stress from war.

Many of those returning Vets with injuries are still using P90x with modifications to maintain their muscle and health.  The program has become synonymous with vets.  But aware of this need of adaption and modification and mindful of those wounded, Tony decided it was time for a simple program.  No matter what your current health is, you can get in shape.  There’s no x for extreme, no crazy expectations.   If you commit, adapt and modify as needed, you will see results.

You’ve heard my message, we are all capable.  There are absolutely untold injuries, illnesses, and diseases that may keep you from your health.  But you can take control.  You may not ever be what you thought you’d be, you may have a new normal. I want you to know that new normal can be more than you ever dreamed.

To honor our Vets and his own father, Tony has set up that every purchase will have a donation going to Wounded Warriors.  I will also match that donation for any client that purchases.  This is a matter close to my heart and I hope this will help you.

 

IMG_0391.JPG

 

 

 

About Say Hawk

I am a mother of two, wife of over ten years. I am an advocate for my special needs son and a cheerleader for my family and friends. I don't believe in can't and desire to help everyone find a way to fight their N-E-V-E-R-S.
This entry was posted in Beachbody, Challenge, Fitness, Military, Promotion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

