I Am What I Do

When did I become a runner? I do not own this image.

When did I become a runner? I do not own this image.

When I first started running I couldn’t call myself a runner.  I ran every other day for months and still couldn’t give myself the label of runner.  The runners were people that ran races, completed marathons, wore shorts.  I was a novice and couldn’t claim to be a real runner.

I was running, laces my shoes just as the marathoners.  My clothes changed to tighter and brighter.  I ran a race and I even lost the weight.  When did I become a runner?  When did people start to see me as one?  Why did I ever resist calling myself one?

I became a runner in the doing.  I routinely committed to running and in the process became a runner.  Others saw that commitment and the results and labeled me as a runner.  I haven’t completed any marathons, I’m certainly not a pro, but I am a runner.

This made me realize that I am many things.  We like to give ourselves one or two labels, mother, worker, wife.  But we often are many things.  My hobbies are pretty endless and the things I value are eccentric and difficult to quantify.  I am many things because I enjoy them, because I habitually do them, because I am not just one label.

You might think that you can’t be a writer, a runner, an athlete, because you haven’t completed some goal.  But if you commit every day, every other day, every week to the goals you have, you will become them.  You will be fit, you will finish that book, you will have your dreams.

There is no reason not to try, no reason not to commit to your dreams and work for what you’ve always wanted.  The fear that is stopping you will still be there. You can have what you’ve always wanted or you can stay as you are.

If you want to be something go out and do it.

About Say Hawk

I am a mother of two, wife of over ten years. I am an advocate for my special needs son and a cheerleader for my family and friends. I don't believe in can't and desire to help everyone find a way to fight their N-E-V-E-R-S.
This entry was posted in Beachbody, Challenge, Fitness, Motivation and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

