Awareness Guest Post On PCOS

September is PCOS Awareness Month.  I didn’t know a lot about it but I am surrounded by the amazing women that fight it.  My partner Jill Binion from Mom On The Move wrote a little piece on what it’s like.  This is her post so please give her some love and let her know what you think of it.  Thank you Jill for sharing this is just more proof that we are all Truly Capable.

PCOS Awareness Guest Post

PCOS Awareness Guest Post

PCOS….such a loaded acronym. It stands for Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, but the reality is so much more then those four letters can ever explain. PCOS is an invisible illness I battle against every single day of my life. When I look in the mirror, my eyes go straight to my stomach. Why? That’s where I carry ALL my weight. Weight that PCOS makes incredibly easy to gain, and what feels like impossible to lose.

I see hair that is thin, and a face that is anxious. My PCOS has left me with metabolic syndrome, so my body does not digest insulin properly, and I habitually crave all the wrong foods. PCOS also left me with heartbreaking infertility. Remember that weight in my stomach? I’ve been asked countless times if I’m pregnant. Imagine the crushing blow that brings to a woman who is not only not pregnant, but cannot get pregnant, and wishes with all her heart that she could.

PCOS has tried to kick my ass time and time again, but I absolutely refuse to let it get the best of me. It took my fertility, but it WILL NOT take my life! Leaving me with a higher risk of heart disease and diabetes, I have to be on my game. I have found the path to success with Beachbody. When I hit yet another wall, I took a HUGE risk and put the 21 Day Fix challenge pack on my credit card. I didn’t even tell my husband. Yep. That desperate. My life has forever changed inside and out thanks to that decision.

That one risk lead to me to finding the answer to all my fitness and nutritional struggles. I have workouts that work, a meal plan that makes sense, Shakeology to kill my cravings (still shocks me to this day!!! Turn down M&M,s, say what???) and total and unbelievable support. I am living proof that this works, even with all obstacles against you. I use my struggle to build up my strength and empower others to get healthy with me as a Beachbody Coach. I’ll always have PCOS, but PCOS will never have me!

About Say Hawk

I am a mother of two, wife of over ten years. I am an advocate for my special needs son and a cheerleader for my family and friends. I don't believe in can't and desire to help everyone find a way to fight their N-E-V-E-R-S.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Beachbody, Family, Fitness, Guest Blog, Motivation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Awareness Guest Post On PCOS

  1. Pingback: Introducing: Featured New Blog | Truly Capable

Leave a Reply

