Ebola/Enterovirus: Don’t Panic

 

Tips to keep you and your family safe and healthy this flu season

Tips to keep you and your family safe and healthy this flu season

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ve seen the growing media hysteria over Ebola. Though I agree you should be concerned, especially over the lives lost in Africa. I don’t think we need to barricade our homes just yet.  If you’re planning on avoiding society until it passes feel free to ignore this simple guide to lessening your chances of getting sick.  If like me you have children, or as I affectionately call them “germ farms,” please continue.

Enterovirus 68 has hardly been mentioned but this dangerous strain of flu has spread rapidly across the country and killed four children as of this post.  It seems to be targeting children. As opposed to H1N1 which was more fond of adults, which I can personally attest to.  Rather than give in to the hysteria there are things you can do.   Here’s my simple guide from someone that really could die from the flu.

Wash your hands, always.  Anything you touch, anyone you meet, assume they’re all infected and just stay clean.

Sanitize all commonly touched items: door handles, light switches, faucets, and even soap containers. If you see little hands often reaching for it, clean it.

Clean those legos.  I know it’s a pain to clean kid toys, seriously, but throw them in the dishwasher or in your washing machine.  Problem solved.

Don’t share food or drinks with anyone.  Now I say this with limited accountability because my toddler loves my food more than any food in the world.

Don’t forget to replace toothbrushes if anyone in your home does get sick.

If you’re really not sure of the environment or the people, skip out.

If anyone shows signs of sickness, assume they have it.

Get your Flu Shot!

**Ebola specific advice: avoid foreign body excretions.  In this case it’s always best to treat blood and the like with gloves and precautions.  Minimize exposure and prolonged contact.

 

Every Flu season I become an anxious mess.  I have COPD and have been hospitalized over the most common of illnesses.  There is only so much prevention you can do.  Focus on the health of yourself and your family.  Try not to stress too much over these diseases unless you have been exposed.  Practice your Chicken Soup Recipe and load up Netflix.  Brace yourselves Flu Season is here….

 

About Say Hawk

I am a mother of two, wife of over ten years. I am an advocate for my special needs son and a cheerleader for my family and friends. I don't believe in can't and desire to help everyone find a way to fight their N-E-V-E-R-S.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Family, Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

