Every Voice Matters

I have been blind since birth and I am always struggling to fit in. The world needs more people like you

Dear You

Dear You

I woke this morning to this message in my twitter account. It touched me greatly. This isn’t the first message, or the first time I’ve been amazed by the reach of the internet. But I can’t help but think you should know… Go out and live your dreams, change the world by being the person you hope to be.

If you touch just one life it’s all worth it. There are so many voices in this world that feel helpless and unheard, you can be their voice. You have a story to tell and there are people that need to hear it. You have unlived dreams that are just waiting for you.  There is absolutely no reason why you can’t live them, right now.

It is terrifying to change or to put yourself out there. I can tell you that I’ve been attacked for it. People expect perfection when you’re in the public eye. We are not perfect, my husband and I have both lost a lot of weight and are still working, Oliver is still behind in speech, our youngest is destructive and fearless. We are happy to be imperfect. People want perfection because they assume that when you share you’re story you’re saying you’re better than them. To be different is not only scary for you but those around you.

I am not trying to be better than anyone but who I was yesterday. I hope to bring joy and education to those around me. I hope to empower and uplift those voices that feel helpless. I hope to remake the world for my son, so that he is never held back or ridiculed for being different. If you can embrace the differences in all of us you’ll find how beautiful the world is. There isn’t just one way to live, or parent. Life is full of choices and options that make each of us an interesting story.

There will always be people that are hurtful and attack. The best solution to that kind of person is to let them have their anger. It has nothing to do with you, it will stay on long beyond you, and you cannot allow yourself to be derailed by it. When you see the dissenters and receive the inevitable comments of “you’re fat” or “what do you know.” Focus on the the positive, the dent you’ve made in the world. See the faces of the people that have said “I understand” or “I want to know more.” The world is full of wonderful people, focus on them, and let the angry and discontent have each other. As they say “misery loves company.”

I am grateful that this message has changed lives. Thanks to the internet I have reached through to adults that are blind and have felt misunderstood or mistreated. This message has inspired them to be who they are rather than hide. I see everyday how everyone is capable, anything is possible. I see how different is beautiful and inspiring and I think ” I should be more like him.” My son is a constant source of inspiration. My family inspires me daily to be better and to love more.

I hope you can surround yourself with that kind of happiness and share that with others. You are capable. You are beautiful. Your voice has value. You matter. You can change the world.

If you want to follow similar posts visit the Special Needs Page.

About Say Hawk

I am a mother of two, wife of over ten years. I am an advocate for my special needs son and a cheerleader for my family and friends. I don't believe in can't and desire to help everyone find a way to fight their N-E-V-E-R-S.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Family, Special Needs, Vision Impaired and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

