Meet The Blind In Local Paper

Meet The Blind has made our small local weekly paper.

Meet The Blind has made our small local weekly paper.

As an adult I’m not always a fan of the mail. Usually it’s full of bills and dire warnings of things you should be doing or paying. You may get a stack of junk and if you’re lucky a coupon to a store you’ll actually use. Today my lovely mail lady brought us our weekly newspaper. I knew this was the one our interview would be in and I happily turned through the pages.

The absolutely amazing thing about this journey isn’t just that we are heard, it’s hearing the stories of others.  Our writer Lou, is legally blind.  He is learning how to navigate the world newly without his full vision. It was fantastic to talk with him and learn more about him. I have to say that he understood our challenges far more than anyone could have and did due diligence to share our purpose. I truly hope to see him at a visually impaired event in the future. If you are still following us here Lou, Thank you.

The first question we were asked about this silly idea of a whole month of awareness, was why. Why would we tell our story? The special needs community is inclusive and welcoming. Every time I meet another family we just click. It’s a blessing to have others that understand the struggles and triumphs of our life. The beauty of this awareness campaign has been that we have met many more families just like us.

Meeting other people that are visually impaired whether children or adults is fantastic. I still worry over Oliver’s future and what it will be like. Every person we meet expands my view of his opportunities and makes me thankful for what I have. I absolutely love your stories and hope you will continue to share them with us.

Go out into the world and invite friendship. Greet a stranger rather than stare at them and try to spread the kindness forward. Everyone is dealing with some struggle. Focus on what you have in common with others rather than their differences. I promise you have more more in common than you think. Try not to dismiss that which is different, instead see the beauty in it. I find the thing that sets special needs families apart is that they are always looking to celebrate and accept. It is a wonderful trait to have and share with others.

Thank you for sharing this journey with us, from the bottom of my heart. If you’d like to see more of Oliver’s Journey and Our Story please visit the Special Needs Page.

About Say Hawk

I am a mother of two, wife of over ten years. I am an advocate for my special needs son and a cheerleader for my family and friends. I don't believe in can't and desire to help everyone find a way to fight their N-E-V-E-R-S.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Family, Special Needs, Vision Impaired and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

