Crisis Averted: Save Your Photos

The moments that changed my life and created my family.

The moments that changed my life and created my family.

I’m not ashamed to admit I’m a momarrazi. I take pictures of my kids over every little thing. I have an extensive collection of their antics, silly faces, and moments. That is until my hard drive crashed. Then my back up hard drive crashed. I panicked imagining all the moments that were forever gone. Agonized that my wedding was gone…

I tore through the basement and the stack of cds and dvd back ups that have been piled away. I flipped through photo albums and virtual clouds. I was able to save many of our photos. Also thanks to the internet our largest moments are saved online. Through this process I actually learned how much of our lives are already out there. It also prompted me to stop putting off family portraits. I’ve had a series of issues tracking down a new photographer. I had wanted family portraits with my youngest as a baby but that never panned out. He grew quicker than I was ready for.

Every time we get our photos done professionally I take the time to back up, make albums, and share. Before you find yourself frantic over lost photos here are a few ideas on how you can protect yourself and your family.

  • You are probably already all over Facebook. Sort into albums or make a shutterfly book by connecting to your facebook.
  • Cloud Storage: You can’t just rely on a physical hard drive. Find a system you trust and at least save the photos you can’t live without.
  • Make year books for your family. Instead of scrap booking make a digital album. Save the great pictures for full page inserts and make a timeline out of your every day photos.
  • Send your photos off to be printed. You can do this all online now, stop putting it off.
  • Sort your physical photos into albums.
  • Back up your photos on cds at least yearly. You will appreciate this later.
  • Take more photos! I avoided tons of photos with my kids because of my weight, now I just wish I were in the picture with them.
  • Once you complete any of these tasks have copious amounts of wine, you earned it.

A cookie or dessert is not out of the question. Crisis now averted, well done mom.

NaBloPoMo November 2014

About Say Hawk

I am a mother of two, wife of over ten years. I am an advocate for my special needs son and a cheerleader for my family and friends. I don't believe in can't and desire to help everyone find a way to fight their N-E-V-E-R-S.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crisis Averted: Save Your Photos

  1. Farrah says:

    Great tips! I am the same way…but mainly for food and cat/pet pictures, haha. 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

