Why You Should Hide Your Scale

Non Scale Victories

Non Scale Victories

Since July I have worked out five to six days a week. I’ve eaten mostly clean, I’ve given up desserts. I’ve had maybe three cocktails. I have pushed my body to the limits. I have built strength and endurance. I have become the most fit I have ever been.

I do not look as fit as I am. I still battle a very prevalent mom belly. My body is completely resistant to giving it up. I have doubled my work outs. I have increased my training and knowledge. I have given up cheat meals. I still look soft around the edges.

When I was at my skinniest I couldn’t run a mile. I couldn’t do a single push up. I wasn’t actually fit. I just looked the part. I was continually starving myself because I couldn’t afford to eat and because I had a wedding coming up. I followed every diet including atkins, nothing could help me get the ideal body.

For the past five months I have grown more athletic than I have ever been. I completed my first 5k. Was Certified as an Insanity Live Instructor. I even make instructional videos to help my friends and clients build on their ability. I have gone from a size 12/14 to a 8/10.

Clearly my body has changed. I’ve lost 55 lbs in my journey but since July I have only lost 8 lbs.In that time I have lost over 24 inches. I have completely transformed. I am much stronger than I was. I have fulfilled my promises to myself. How could the scale not move?

In July my body fat percent was 52%. It’s embarrassing to say. I put on all that weight having children. Although I lost quickly with nursing and activity, I couldn’t lose more while breastfeeding. I didn’t understand how moms bounced back so quickly because my body seemed completely unwilling to give up the extra fluff.

Today I measured my body fat. I try to only jump on the scale once a month, it’s easier not to get overwhelmed if I focus on the big picture. I forgot how big the number for body fat was, I haven’t been checking. I was completely shocked to see a new number of 38%. Yes I’m still big I’m currently in a medium. My legs are much more athletic than the rest of me. My belly still looks pregnant. I would love to use some of the excess from my chest. But I have come a long way.

12% body fat and 8 lbs. From an inability to run at all to completing my first 5k in 32 minutes. I have conquered and persevered. There is so much more to be done but I can see the change. I feel the difference. I understand the transformation.

Throw out your scale, stop relying on a number. Focus on your fitness. How many push ups can you do, how long can you run? How deep is your squat? What size are your clothes, how do they feel? There are so many victories along the way, celebrate every single one. It will get you through the toughest days.

If you want to see how I lost most of those inches please view This Takes Bravery – Piyo Results. 
NaBloPoMo November 2014

About Say Hawk

I am a mother of two, wife of over ten years. I am an advocate for my special needs son and a cheerleader for my family and friends. I don't believe in can't and desire to help everyone find a way to fight their N-E-V-E-R-S.
This entry was posted in Beachbody, Fitness, Motivation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why You Should Hide Your Scale

  1. alliehumeny says:

    Love! You are rocking it. The scale freaks me out. Sends me into a tailspin every time. Technically I’m overweight but I’ve never been healthier. I’m happy. To heck with the scale. It doesn’t measure awesome, and you’ve got lots of that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

